UEFA Euro 2012 : Poland will play against Greece on June 8.

Euro 2012 kicks of on June 8, co-hosted by Poland and Ukraine. The first match pits Poland against Greece.Euro 2012 starts with the Group Stage, beginning with Group A. Poland v Greece starts at 6pm CET (5pm GMT/Noon ET/9am PT); the match will be played at Warsaw National Stadium.

Poland national football team :

The Poland national football team represents Poland in association football and is controlled by the Polish Football Association, the governing body for football in Poland. Poland's home ground is National Stadium in Warsaw and their head coach is Franciszek Smuda.

The most well-renowned Polish team was the one of the mid-seventies that held England to a draw at Wembley to qualify for the World Cup in 1974. They finished third 1-0 over Brazil in the tournament with striker Grzegorz Lato winning the Golden Boot for his seven goals. Poland had another third place result in 1982 beating France 3–2 in the third-place play-off.

Poland also won the gold medal in the 1972 Summer Olympics in Munich, and the silver medal in 1976 in Montreal as well in 1992 silver medal in Barcelona. Their Olympic success was helped by a wholly amateur squad, similar to other nations behind the Iron Curtain.
Poland first qualified for the European Football Championships in 2008, although they will compete as joint hosts with Ukraine in 2012 European Football Championship, thus have automatically qualified.

Poland :

Current squad For Euro 2012 :

1 GK Wojciech Szczęsny
12 GK Grzegorz Sandomierski
22 GK Przemysław Tytoń
2 DF Sebastian Boenisch
3 DF Grzegorz Wojtkowiak
4 DF Marcin Kamiński
13 DF Marcin Wasilewski
14 DF Jakub Wawrzyniak
15 DF Damien Perquis
20 DF Łukasz Piszczek
5 MF Dariusz Dudka
6 MF Adam Matuszczyk
7 MF Eugen Polanski
8 MF Maciej Rybus
10 MF Ludovic Obraniak
11 MF Rafał Murawski
16 MF Jakub Błaszczykowski (Captain)
18 MF Adrian Mierzejewski
19 MF Rafał Wolski
9 FW Robert Lewandowski
17 FW Artur Sobiech
21 FW Kamil Grosicki
23 FW Paweł Brożek

Poland vs. Greece

Friday, June 8 (Poland)

Time : 9 a.m. PT,5 : 00 . pm GMT

Venue : Warsaw National Stadium

Greece national football team :

The Greece national football team represents Greece in association football and is controlled by the Hellenic Football Federation, the governing body for football in Greece. Greece's home ground is Karaiskakis Stadium in Piraeus and their head coach is Fernando Santos. Greece spent most of their history in relative obscurity, having participated only twice in the final tournaments of the FIFA World Cup and the UEFA European Championship, in 1994 and 1980 respectively, until UEFA Euro 2004, when they became European champions in only their second participation in the tournament. The Greeks, dismissed as rank outsiders before the tournament with bookmakers giving odds of between 80–1 to 150–1 for them to win, defeated some of the favourites in the competition including defending champions France and hosts Portugal, who Greece beat in both the opening game of the tournament and again in the final.

Greece :

Current squad For Euro 2012 :

1 GK Kostas Chalkias
12 GK Alexandros Tzorvas
13 GK Michalis Sifakis
2 DF Giannis Maniatis
3 DF Giorgos Tzavelas
4 DF Stelios Malezas
5 DF Kyriakos Papadopoulos
8 DF Avraam Papadopoulos
15 DF Vasilis Torosidis
19 DF Sokratis Papastathopoulos
20 DF José Holebas
6 MF Grigoris Makos
10 MF Giorgos Karagounis (captain)
16 MF Giorgos Fotakis
18 MF Sotiris Ninis
21 MF Kostas Katsouranis
22 MF Kostas Fortounis
23 MF Giannis Fetfatzidis
7 FW Giorgos Samaras
9 FW Nikos Liberopoulos
11 FW Kostas Mitroglou
14 FW Dimitris Salpigidis
17 FW Theofanis Gekas

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.